Press Enter to Center block

Taiwan team wins 4th place in World Championship Roller Speed Skating

Taiwan team wins 4th place in World Championship Roller Speed Skating
This year’s World Championship Roller Speed Skating took place in Oostende in Belgium from August 22 to August 31. This year saw 54 countries take part in this prestigious annual international event. Taiwan was represented by a delegation of 38 skaters, the largest group in the competition. On August 22 the team was welcomed during an opening ceremony near Oostende Beach. Huei-wen Hsu, Director of the Education Division of the Taipei Representative Office in the EU & Belgium, and the First Secretary, Lien Tse, were in attendance to cheer for the group.

The Taiwan team did very well in the competition. They received a total of 3 gold, 4 silver, and 6 bronze medals in 13 races. The gold medal winners were Ho-Chen Yang in the 10,000m points/elimination race, Liu Yi-hsuan in the Junior Ladies Marathon, and the relay trio Ho-Chen Yang, Liu Gu-Jen and Li Meng-Chu who won the Senior Ladies 5,000m relay. With the strong contribution of the silver and bronze medal winners, the Taiwan team ended up ranking fourth overall in this international competition. The overall first place went to Colombia, followed by Italy in second place, and Belgium in third place.

Photo:The Taiwan team with Taipei Representative Office officials at the opening ceremony