Press Enter to Center block

The Netherlands-Asia Honorary Summer School Programme Expands

In 2012 the Dutch government established the Netherlands-Asia Honorary Summer School Programme in collaboration with 13 universities and 25 private companies. The programme offers outstanding Dutch students to attend 4 to 5 weeks of Asia-related courses somewhere in Asia each summer. Following the visit of Mrs. Yvonne Van Rooy, former President of Utrecht University, to Taiwan in 2012, National Chengchi University (NCCU) and National Taiwan University (NTU) became partners in this prestigious programme. Fifteen outstanding Dutch students went to each university in 2013. The Honorary Summer School Programme will grow from 75 to 100 participants in 2014, and among them, 20 Dutch students will be welcomed by NCCU.

Representative Lee of the Taipei Representative Office in the Netherlands and Director Hsu of the Education Division of the Taipei Representative Office in the EU & Belgium met with Mrs. Marjan Oudemann, the current president of Utrecht University, and others on January 8 to review the Honorary Summer School Programme and discuss future development of educational exchanges between Taiwan and the Netherlands. Three current student representatives, former participants, and current board members in charge of the development and renovation of the programme heard evaluations from the previous year. Director Hsu was delighted to learn of the major expansion this year, and gave her commitment to facilitate coordination for participating students and Taiwan’s universities supporting the programme alike.