Press Enter to Center block

Culture Arts Performing Team Perform “Taiwan Impression” for 2014 Taiwanese American Heritage Week in Montreal

Culture Arts Performing Team Perform “Taiwan Impression” for 2014 Taiwanese American Heritage Week in Montreal
The Culture Arts Performing Team from National Taiwan University of Physical Education and Sport (NTUPES) gave a performance at Theatre Desjardin in Montreal on May 6, 2014 as part of the celebrations for Asian Heritage Month in Canada. Dr. Chih-Kung Liu, from the Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Canada hosted a banquet the preceding evening to extend a warm welcome to all the visiting performers and the local participants and attended the "Taiwan Impressions" performance with his wife and several colleagues. "Taiwan Impressions" features many folk dances and conveys Taiwan’s dynamic and rich culture.

This was one of twelve performances presented by the Culture Arts Performing Team, starting April 30, in a total of 10 cities in Canada and the United States. Their US performances were part of the 2014 Taiwanese American Heritage Week celebrations. This is part of Asian-Pacific American Heritage Month which has been held since 1999. The former United States president, Bill Clinton, announced that Taiwanese American Heritage Week would be held annually in the second week of May to honor the culture and contributions of Taiwanese Americans and foster further understanding.

The NTUPES Culture Arts Performing Team is a promising and energetic performing group. It has been invited to perform for Taiwan’s National Day several times and twice for the Yosakoi Soran Matsuri dance festival in Japan. Their excellent performances have won international recognition and they have contributed to successful international artistic and cultural exchanges. Such exchanges share Taiwan’s culture and raise Taiwan’s global visibility.

For this tour, The NTUPES Culture Arts Performing Team was supported by various agencies: the Sports Administration of the Ministry of Education; the Ministry of Foreign Affairs; the Ministry of Culture; the Tourism Bureau of the Ministry of Transportation and Communications; the Council of Indigenous Peoples; the Overseas Community Affairs Council; and the Hakka Affairs Council.