Press Enter to Center block

Eight Universities Sign MOU Launching Taiwan-UK University Consortium

The Taiwan–UK Consortium signing ceremony attendees

On November 20, 2023, four British research universities—Newcastle University, the University of Edinburgh, the University of Liverpool, and the University of the West of Scotland—and four research universities in Taiwan: National Taiwan University, National Taiwan Normal University, National Sun Yat-sen University, and National Tsinghua University signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) thereby launching and becoming inaugural members of the Taiwan–UK University Consortium.
The signing ceremony, attended by personnel from the Education Division of the Taipei Representative Office in the UK, and Chang Chia-Cheng, Director General of the Taipei Representative Office in the UK, Edinburgh Office, was held at the University of Edinburgh Moray House School of Education and Sport, following discussions at a Taiwan–UK University Consortium workshop earlier that morning. 
The formation of this first-ever consortium of research universities in the UK and in Taiwan was a joint initiative of the Ministry of Education and the British Council. Ralph Rogers, Director Taiwan at the British Council, gave the opening remarks in which he spoke about the common commitment to innovation shared by Taiwan and the UK, saying that their universities play a leading role in this regard. He also mentioned the potential of “innovative approaches in English language teaching and learning” to assist Taiwan to achieve its 2030 bilingual policy objectives. 
He was followed by Dr. Nicole Lee, Director General of the Ministry of Education's Department of International and Cross-strait Education, and Director General Chang, who spoke about the close ties that Taiwan and the UK have enjoyed for many years, the importance and growing popularity of the UK as a destination for Taiwanese students, and Taiwan's growing appeal for British students wanting to improve their Mandarin proficiency or pursue university studies. 
The consortium members are committed to supporting and collaborating in efforts to advance ‘Green Energy and Net Zero solutions’ to achieve a sustainable, net zero future. They will strengthen faculty and student exchanges, conduct collaborative research and professional training, and establish a knowledge exchange platform for key emerging technologies. Other universities in the UK and Taiwan may be invited to join the consortium in the future.